top of page

Testing and Competing


Valid until April 30, 2018

All about Divisions and Age Restrictions

As at 14th March 2018

The ISA Board recently ratified new test and competition divisions to more closely reflect those as outlined by the ISU.

Basic Novice will have one (1) test each for Pattern and Technical, now starting from Preliminary level. However, as at May 1st 2018, there will be three (3) competitive levels according to age for Basic Novice.

Please see the ISA Comms 102, 103 and 104 for clarification.


Ice Dance Test Structure ~ Changes approved at the 2016 ISA AGM took effect from 1 May 2016.

Changes to Division Names 2016
Test Reporting for State Associations

The following documents are to be used for TEST REPORTING from 1st July 2016

Understanding Tests and Levels

For those new to Figure Skating or those who are enjoying the Aussie Skate Learn-to-Skate system, this section outlines the testing structure and pathways for ice skating, for recreational as well as competitive skaters.

ISA Figure skating tests begin at the Preliminary level and end with the Senior level tests.

In order to compete at a certain level, skaters must pass the test that is at the level at which the skater wishes to compete. For example, in order to compete in Basic Novice A or B, skaters must pass the Basic Novice Pattern and Program tests. 

Please see the diagrams below for more information.

bottom of page